French language courses

Alliance Française of La Haye proposes a large choice of classes, from beginner level to higher levels and with different arrangements (intensive/extensive, evening classes, private classes, summer trainings, classes in companies…). At the end of the course, the student will receive a certificate or a certificate of attendance depending on the obtained results at the final exams.

Levels

The French classes are aligned with the levels of the CEFR allowing to acquire a renowned  level on international scale. These levels are divided in 2,3 or 4 sublevels. To know your exact level, please step by during our Open Days or make an appointment for taking a placement test.

French Adult Group Classes

A1 - Starter level

It is the most elementary level for the use of French language. You will be able to make simple interactions: you will be able to talk about yourself and about your direct environment. The A1 level is divided in 2 sub-levels.

A1.1. In this class, you will learn the basics of French language: present yourself, present someone, ask questions, count, order at the restaurant, describe your city, give the time. At the end of the course, you will be ready for a weekend in France.

DATES & FEES

A1.2. You will continue to study the basis of French. You will talk about food, do groceries, go to the cinema/theater, talk about what you are doing or about a memory. At the end of this class, you will be able to write a postcard to your relatives to inform them about your holidays.

DATES & FEES

A2 - Elementary level

You will be able to realize every-day life tasks. You will use the most used politeness and exchange formulas to express yourself on simple topics. The A2 level is divided over 2 levels.

A2.1. You will enter the survival level, you will start to have short conversations in French to make projects, give advice, justify decisions, describe and tell about your holidays...

DATES & FEES

A2.2. You will describe and rent a flat, enter in the labor world, give advice, express wishes, certainties, talk to an assembly of persons, understand a publicity, give your opinion.

DATES & FEES

B1 - Intermediate level

You will become independent. You will be able to continue an interaction: you will be able to understand and participate actively in a discussion, give your advice and opinion. You will be able to manage unexpected situations of the every-day life. The B1 level is divided in 3 levels.

B1.1. In the first theme 'Vivre ensemble', we will tackle the theme of living together and good manners. The topics that will be studied will be: living together, the consumption of fruits and vegetables, the art of the table, good manners, gastronomy and fast-food.

The second theme that will be tackled concerns the professional work. We will learn more about studies and work. The studied topics are: the international students in France, student work, higher education, linguistic exchanges, teleworking, job interview and CV.

The last theme of the class will be about the medias and more specifically on the French medias and social networks. The studied topics will be: French press, French medias, diversity in medias, new technologies and social networks.

DATES & FEES

B1.2. The first theme concerns family and friendship. The studied topics are: youth, single life and life as a couple, love stories, education of children, family and family traditions and finally love and friendship in everyday life.

In the second theme 'à l’horizon', we will discuss travels and transports. The studied topics are: tourism, travels, transports and holiday memories.

The last theme of the level will be consumption. We will study especially the environment and leisure activities. The studied topics will be: French consumers, a documentary on geocaching, the fairytale, consumption, money, ecology and sustainable development, recycling and leisure time.

DATES & FEES

B1.3. First theme of the last sub-level of B1: citizenship. We will look at the theme of engagement and justice. The studied topics will be: naturalization, police, justice, detective novel, citizen rights and duties, civil service, biography of a reporter.

For the second theme 'Perles de culture', we will exchange on art and history. The studied topics will be photography, painting, novels, museums, history of the world, medieval art and may 1968.

In conclusion of the B1 level, the last theme concerns international exchanges. We will discuss Europe and globalization. The studied topics will be: the PAC, economic globalization, European parliament, world food, European citizenship, European union and UNESCO.

DATES & FEES

B2 - Upper intermediate level

At the end of B2 level, you will have acquired independence allowing you to argue to defend your opinion, develop a point of view and negotiate. You will be at ease in social discourses and will be able to correct your own mistakes. The B2 level is divided in 4 levels.

B2.1. In 'Médias à la une', students will have to start reflecting on the position of man in mediatized societies. We will then comment a publicity campaign, work on short news items, exchange information around series and TV shows, write a paper article and also analyze the place of women in medias. Grammar and vocabulary will be about: medias, the passive form, declaratives, indirect discourse and the future.

For 'C’est dans l’air', we will exchange on fashion, comment a catwalk, discover gastronomy, learn to speak like the youth, look at the ‘’bobos’’ way of living, study a sociological essay on the phenomena of tribes and imagine the concept of fashionable places. Grammar and vocabulary: fashion, past, the weather, relative pronouns.

With 'Les arts en perspective' we will discuss artistic creation. We will work on film critics: written and on radio, present the synopsis of a movie and the film’s critic, describe and compare art pieces, give our opinion on art and artists, old and modern art but also exchange on comic strips. Grammar and Vocabulary: art (object), principles, appreciation, opposition and concession.

DATES & FEES

B2.2. In 'Les nouveaux voyageurs', we will exchange on new forms of travelling, discuss ecological tourism and express tastes in ways of travelling and holidays, share our travel experiences, prepare a touristic brochure, see how to tackle unexpected events during a journey with the Bidochons and realize a travel notebook. Grammar and Vocabulary: tourism, transport, causes, express possibilities/advise/advise against.

In 'Grandeur nature', we will work on ecology. We will exchange on ecological investment and discuss the environmental future of our planet, discuss environmental problems, describe a natural site, create a leaflet for a natural park or prepare a petition against global warming. Grammar and vocabulary: ecology, geography, localization, animals, plants, personal pronouns.

Finally, in 'l’histoire en marche', we will talk about the recent history of France. Through testimonies, posters and articles in newspapers. We will also explore the events of May 1968. Furthermore, we will look at the abolishment of death penalty in France to exchange on the concept of nation and citizenship. We will also discuss the relativity of history and socio-educational problems. Grammar and vocabulary: history, nation and citizens, changes, consequences.

DATES & FEES

B2.3. With 'je l’aime, un peu, beaucoup…' we will discuss loyalty and adultery, the differences in love, study a text from French literature on love, give our conception on friendship, present and recite poems, understand a graphic looking at the seven capital sins, write an artistic love letter. Grammar and vocabulary: feelings, emotions, love and friendship, certainty/doubt, indicative/subjunctive.

In the second and last part of this level 'Ressources humaines', we will discuss the relationships between colleagues at work, attempt to understand French employees, describe the professional situation of young degree holders and seniors, debate on the equality between men and women at work and finally imagine and play a scene of discrimination. Grammar and vocabulary: work, comment data, compare, express similarities and differences, present principle, gerund, verbal adjective.

DATES & FEES

B2.4. In 'à la recherche du bien-être', we will explain our tastes in gastronomy and discuss junk food, talk about invitations and what they reveal, think about problems linked to overweight persons and physical discriminations, understand a cooking recipe and the comments of net surfers linked to the recipe and write a report denouncing physical discrimination. Grammar and vocabulary: food, cooking, quantity, express appreciation and quantity, the body, expressions, the goal.

In conclusion of the B2 level, Francophonie will be at the center of debates. In 'Le Français dans tous ces états', we will discuss francophonie, play tongue twisters, debate on language diversity, speak of linguistic minorities, understand a piece of writing in French, understand a text on the evolution and mysteries of French language. Grammar and vocabulary: expressions, link words, levels of language, conditions and hypothesis.

DATES & FEES

C1 - Advanced level

You will be able to establish an easy and spontaneous communication. You will have a large vocabulary and use adequate expressions to make comments. You will produce a clear discourse, well-constructed and without hesitations that will show a good use of structure in French language. The C1 level is divided in 3 different levels.

C1.1 This course is based on the method Alter Ego 5.

The first part of the course is about the new technologies and the digital revolution. The student will learn how to comment statistics, to analyze a text about the scientific vulgarization, to follow a philosophic reasoning and to compare different ways in which media treats the same theme.

The second part is about Family, education and life expectation. We will analyze a classic theatre scene, compare sociological documents, criticize an essay and analyze a polemic article.

DATES & FEES

C1.3 This course is based on the method Alter Ego 5.

We will start with the following themes: the formation of elites, the Grandes écoles, equal opportunity and gender inequality. The goal is to be able to summarize the evolution of a certain notion, to announce an “exception française”, to analyze a contemporary political discourse and to edit a formal letter.

Then we will continue with the chapter “Eurovisions” about the European construction, the different institutions, Europe and nationalism and about multilingualism. The student will study the art of speech, the interpretation of legal formulations, the different visions in other countries and the writing of a theatre dialogue.

DATES & FEES

C1 Pro On this level the student will also work on the four competences (writing, reading, listening, speaking), but without a method. The course is based on professional / business French and on the way in which French should be used in a more formal context, using audiovisual documents and texts. 

DATES & FEES

Teaching Method

Public

At Alliance Française of La Haye, the objective is to improve or to develop knowledge of the French language and culture. The students will be oriented to the course that suits them the best after taking a placement test (organized with an appointment or at the open days)

The educational team is consulting new methods of teaching continuously and is trying to choose the best and most pertinent ones. The qualified educational team develops teaching supports adapted to personal or professional needs of the students. The tutors are also basing themselves on authentic didactic documents to allow students to develop their French language but also cultural knowledge.

At the moment, the Alliance Française de La Haye uses the following methods:

A1: Totem 1

A2: Totem 2

B1: Nouvel Edito B1

B2: Nouvel Edito B2

C1: Alter Ego 5

Contact

Cours de français

L’Alliance française de La Haye propose un large panel de cours, du niveau débutant au niveau confirmé et selon des modalités variées (intensif/extensif, cours du soir, cours particuliers, stages d'été, cours en entreprise...). À l’issue du cours, il sera remis au participant un certificat de niveau ou de présence en fonction des résultats obtenus lors des tests finaux.

Niveaux

Les cours de français sont alignés sur les niveaux du CECR, vous permettant d’acquérir ainsi un niveau d’apprentissage reconnu sur le plan international. Ces niveaux sont divisés en 2,3 ou 4 sous-niveaux. Pour connaître votre niveau actuel, merci de bien vouloir passer lors de nos Portes Ouvertes ou fixer un rendez-vous pour faire un test de placement.

Les cours de français collectifs adultes

A1 - Niveau découverte

C'est le niveau le plus élémentaire d'utilisation de la langue. Vous serez capable d'interactions simples : vous pourrez parler de vous et de votre environnement immédiat. Le niveau A1 est divisé en 2 niveaux.

A1.1. Dans ce cours, vous allez apprendre les bases du français : se présenter, présenter quelqu'un, poser des questions, compter, commander au restaurant, décrire votre ville, donner l'heure ... A la fin de ce cours, vous serez prêt pour un week-end en France.

DATES & TARIFS

A1.2. Vous allez continuer à étudier les bases du français. Vous allez parler nourriture, faire les courses au marché, sortir au cinéma, au théâtre, parler de ce que vous avez fait, raconter un souvenir. A la fin de ce cours, vous pourrez écrire une carte à vos amis pour raconter votre séjour.

DATES & TARIFS

A2 - Niveau survie

Vous serez capable de réaliser des tâches simples de la vie quotidienne. Vous pourrez utiliser les formules de politesse et d'échange les plus courantes pour vous exprimer sur ses sujets simples. Le niveau A2 est divisé en 2 niveaux.

A2.1. Vous entrez dans le niveau survie, vous pourrez commencer à avoir de courtes conversations en français pour faire des projets, donner des conseils, justifier une décision, décrire et raconter un voyage, ...

DATES & TARIFS

A2.2. Vous allez décrire et louer un appartement, entrer dans le monde du travail, donner des conseils, exprimer des souhaits, des certitudes, parler à un ensemble de personnes, comprendre une publicité, donner votre avis ...

DATES & TARIFS

B1 - Niveau Seuil

Vous allez devenir indépendant. Vous allez être capable de poursuivre une interaction : vous pourrez comprendre et participer activement à une discussion, donner votre avis et votre opinion. Vous pourrez vous débrouiller dans des situations imprévues de la vie quotidienne. Le niveau B1 est divisé en 3 niveaux.

B1.1. Dans la première thématique 'Vivre ensemble', nous allons aborder le thème de la cohabitation et du savoir-vivre. Les sujets étudiés sont : la colocation, la consommation des fruits et légumes, les arts de la table, le savoir-vivre, la gastronomie et le fast-food.

La seconde thématique abordée concerne le monde professionnel. Nous allons en apprendre davantage sur les études et le travail. Les sujets étudiés sont : les étudiants internationaux en France, le travail étudiant, l'enseignement supérieur, les échanges linguistiques, le télétravail, l'entretien d'embauche et le CV.

La dernier thème du cours est sur les médias, plus précisément les médias français et les réseaux sociaux. Les sujets étudiés sont : la presse française, les médias français, la diversité dans les médias, les nouvelles technologies, les réseaux sociaux.

DATES & TARIFS

B1.2. La première thématique abordée concerne la famille. Nous allons échanger sur la famille et l'amitié. Les sujets étudiés sont : la jeunesse, le célibat et la vie de couple, la passion amoureuse, l'éducation des enfants, la famille et les traditions familiales, l'amitié et l'amour ainsi que les modes de vie.

Dans la seconde thématique 'à l'horizon', nous allons échanger sur les thèmes du voyage et des transports. Les sujets étudiés sont : le tourisme, les voyages, les transports, le souvenir de vacances.

Dernière thématique du niveau : la consommation. Nous allons nous intéresser plus particulièrement à l'environnement et aux loisirs. Les sujets étudiés sont : les consommateurs français, un reportage sur le géocaching, le conte, la consommation, l'argent, l'écologie et le développement durable, le recyclage, les loisirs.

DATES & TARIFS

B1.3. Première thématique de ce dernier cours du niveau B1 : la citoyenneté. Nous allons aborder le thème de l'engagement et de la justice. Les sujets étudiés sont : la naturalisation, la police, la justice, le polar, les droits et les devoirs du citoyen, le service civique, la biographie d'une reporter.

Pour la seconde thématique 'Perles de culture' , nous allons échanger autour de l'Art et de l'Histoire. Les sujets étudiés sont : la photographie, la peinture, le roman, le musée, l'histoire du monde, l'art médiéval, Mai '68.

En conclusion du niveau B1, le dernier thème concerne les échanges internationaux. Nous allons échanger sur l'Europe et la mondialisation. Les sujets étudiés sont : la PAC, la mondialisation économique, le Parlement européen, l'alimentation mondiale, la citoyenneté européenne, l'Union européenne et UNESCO.

DATES & TARIFS

B2 - Niveau avancé

À la fin du niveau B2, vous aurez acquis un niveau d'indépendance vous permettant d'argumenter pour défendre votre opinion, développer un point de vue et négocier. Vous ferez preuve d'aisance dans le discours social et deviendrez capable de corriger vous-même vos erreurs. Le niveau B2 est divisé en 4 niveaux.

B2.1. Dans 'Médias à la Une', il s'agira de démarrer une réflexion sur la place de l'homme dans nos sociétés médiatisées. Nous allons ainsi commenter une campagne publicitaire, travailler le fait divers, échanger autour des séries et émissions de télévision, rédiger un article sur la presse et aussi analyser la place de la femme dans les médias. Grammaire et vocabulaire : les médias, le passif, les déclaratifs/le discours rapporté, le discours indirect, le futur.

Pour 'C'est dans l'air', nous allons échanger sur la mode, commenter un défilé, découvrir la haute cuisine, apprendre le 'parler jeune', s'inviter chez les 'bobos', étudier un essai socioligique sur le phénomène des tribus et imaginer un concept de lieu tendance. Grammaire et vocabulaire : la mode, le passé, le temps, les pronoms relatifs.

Avec 'Les arts en perspective' nous entrons dans la création artistique et nous allons travailler sur la critique de film : écrite et radio, présenter un synopsis et une critique de film, décrire et comparer des oeuvres d'art, donner son opinion sur l’art et l’artiste, l'ancien et le moderne et aussi echanger sur la bande dessinée. Grammaire et vocabulaire : l’art, décrire un objet d’art, les participes, l’appréciation, la concession et l’opposition.

DATES & TARIFS

B2.2. Dans 'Les nouveaux voyageurs', nous allons échanger autour des nouvelles formes de voyage, débattre du tourisme écologique et exprimer ses goûts en matière de voyages et de vacances, partager nos expériences de voyages, préparer une brochure touristique, voir comment gérer les imprévus d'un voyage avec les Bidochons et enfin réaliser un carnet de voyages.
Grammaire et vocabulaire : le tourisme, les transports, la cause, exprimer la possibilité/conseiller/déconseiller.

Dans 'Grandeur nature' nous allons travailler sur la thématique de l'écologie. Nous allons échanger sur l’investissement écologique et débattre sur l’avenir écologique de la planète, parler de problèmes environnementaux, décrire un site naturel, créer un prospectus publicitaire pour un parc naturel ou encore préparer une pétition contre le réchauffement climatique. Grammaire et vocabulaire : l’écologie, la géographie, la localisation, les animaux, les plantes, les pronoms personnels.

Enfin dans 'L'histoire en marche', il s'agit de parler de l'histoire récente de France. Par l'intermédiaire de témoignages, d'affiches et d'articles de presse, nous aborderons les événements de mai 1968. Nous verrons aussi comment a été abolie la peine de mort en France pour échanger sur la nation et la citoyenneté. Nous débattrons aussi sur la relativité de l'histoire et les problèmes socio-éducatifs. Grammaire et vocabulaire : l’histoire, la nation et les citoyens, le changement, la conséquence.

DATES & TARIFS

B2.3. Avec 'Je l'aime, un peu, beaucoup...' nous allons parler de la fidélité et de l’adultère ainsi que de la différence en amour, étudier un texte littéraire sur l’amour, donner sa conception de l’amitié, présenter et déclamer un poème, comprendre un ennéagramme relatif aux péchés capitaux et enfin, écrire une lettre d’amour artistique. Grammaire et vocabulaire : les sentiments et les émotions, l’amour et l’amitié, la certitude/le doute, indicatif/subjonctif.

Dans 'Ressources humaines', la seconde et dernière partie de ce niveau, nous allons échanger sur les relations entre collègues de travail, essayer de comprendre les salariés français, décrire la situation professionnelle des jeunes diplômés et des seniors, débattre de l’égalité hommes/femmes au travail et enfin imaginer et jouer une scène de discrimination. Grammaire et vocabulaire : le travail, commenter des données chiffrées, la comparaison, l’expression de la similitude et de la différence, le participe présent, gérondif, adjectif verbal.

DATES & TARIFS

B2.4. Dans 'À la recherche du bien-être', nous allons expliquer nos goûts en matière de cuisines et débattre de la malbouffe, parler des invitations et de ce qu’elles révèlent, réfléchir aux problèmes liés au surpoids et aux discriminations physiques, comprendre une recette de cuisine et les commentaires d’internautes s’y rattachant et rédiger un compte rendu dénonçant une discrimination physique. Grammaire et vocabulaire : l’alimentation, la cuisine, la quantité, l’expression de l’appréciation et de la quantité, le corps, quelques expressions imagées, le but.

En conclusion du niveau B2, la Francophonie sera au centre des débats. Dans 'le français dans tous ces états', nous allons échanger sur la francophonie, jouer des fourchelangues, débattre sur la diversité des langues, parler des minorités linguistiques, comprendre un récit en franglais, comprendre un texte sur l’évolution et les mystères de la grammaire française. Grammaire et vocabulaire : les expressions imagées, les mots de liaison, les niveaux de langue, la condition et l’hypothèse.

DATES & TARIFS

C1 - Niveau autonome

Vous serez capable d'établir une communication aisée et spontanée. Vous aurez un répertoire lexical large et vous pourrez choisir l'expression adéquate pour introduire vos commentaires. Vous produirez un discours clair, bien construit et sans hésitation qui montrera l'utilisation maîtrisée des structures. Le niveau C1 est divisé en 3 cours différents.

C1.1 Ce cours s’appuie sur le manuel Alter Ego 5.

La première partie du cours aura pour thème ‘Les nouvelles technologies et la révolution numérique’ afin de commenter un tableau statistique, d'analyser un texte de vulgarisation scientifique, de restituer un raisonnement philosophique et de comparer différents traitements médiatiques d’un même thème.

La seconde partie aura pour thème ‘La famille, l’éducation, l’espérance de vie’. Nous allons analyser une scène de théâtre classique, comparer des documents sociologiques, critiquer une thèse exposée dans un livre et analyser un article polémique.

DATES & TARIFS

C1.3 Ce cours s’appuie sur le manuel Alter Ego 5.

On commencera d’abord par les thématiques suivantes : la formation des élites, les grandes écoles, l’égalité des chances et les inégalités hommes/femmes. Les objectifs sont de résumer l’évolution d’une notion, de rendre compte d’une « exception française », d’analyser un discours politique contemporain et de rédiger une lettre administrative.

Ensuite on continue avec le chapitre « Eurovisions » autour de la construction européenne, du fonctionnement des institutions, de l’Europe et le sentiment national et du multilinguisme. L’étudiant devra entre autres relever des procédés de l’art oratoire, interpréter des formulations législatives, mettre en perspective des regards venus d’ailleurs et écrire un dialogue de théâtre.

DATES & TARIFS

C1 pro. Sur ce niveau on travaille également sur les quatre compétences (lire, écrire, écouter, parler), mais sans méthode. Les thématiques tournent autour du français professionnel, de l’utilisation du français dans un contexte plus formel, à l’aide de documents sonores et visuels ainsi que de textes.

DATES & TARIFS

Méthodes

Public

À l’Alliance française de La Haye, l'objectif est de perfectionner et de développer les compétences linguistiques et culturelles des étudiants. Ils sont orientés vers le cours qui leur correspond après avoir passé un test de positionnement individuel (organisé sur demande ou pendant les portes ouvertes).

L'équipe pédagogique consulte continuellement de nouvelles méthodes d'enseignement en essayant de choisir les meilleures et les plus pertinentes. Son équipe pédagogique qualifiée développe des supports d'enseignement adaptés aux besoins personnels ou professionnels. Les professeurs se fondent aussi sur les documents authentiques didactisés qui permettent aux élèves de développer leurs compétences langagières et culturelles.

L'Alliance Française de La Haye utilise actuellement les méthodes suivantes:

A1: Totem 1

A2: Totem 2

B1: Nouvel Edito B1

B2: Nouvel Edito B2

C1: Alter Ego 5

Nos manuels de français

bandeau

TOTEM

L'Alliance française utilise pour les cours de niveaux A1 et A2 les manuels Totem. Simple à utiliser, ils proposent un parcours dynamique et rassurant (1 leçon = 1 double page = 1 séquence pédagogique). Chacune des 3 leçons est basée sur un média différent (vidéo, écrit ou audio) et guide l'étudiant dans une découverte de la langue et une construction progressive du sens. Un travail équilibré sur les compétences permet de réaliser la tâche finale du dossier. Aussi, une offre multimédia très riche est incluse dans le livre de l'élève : tout l'audio, toutes les vidéos (la série + des documentaires + des séquences vidéo interactives), un manuel numérique simple à télécharger et des activités interactives en lien avec la vidéo.

Nouvel edito

NOUVEL EDITO

Nouvel Edito est destiné à des étudiants qui souhaitent acquérir les niveaux B1 ou B2 du CECR. Pour favoriser l'acquisition des contenus, le travail sur les champs lexicaux est accompagné d'activités de réemploi et la grammaire est traitée progressivement. Les manuels sont découpés selon diverses thématiques issues de la vie quotidienne et professionnelles : les médias, les arts, les voyages, l'environnement, l'histoire, les sentiments, le travail, le bien-être et aussi la mode et la langue française. Chaque unité mêle des supports authentiques (écrits, sonores et vidéos) qui sont intégrés pour familiariser l'étudiant avec la dimension sociétale de la langue française.

Contact